91st Anniversary - Feis Shligigh 2020 Festival

Committee 2020


His Lordship, Bishop of Elphin Most Rev. Kevin Doran



Michael Currid


Hon, Treasurer

Rose Hynes


Assistant Hon. Treasurer

Paula Cooney


Hon. Secretary

Michael Doherty


Development Officer

Kevin Carroll


Assistant Secretary

Marie Kelly


Executive Committee

Fearghal O’Boyle, Rosaleen Rooney, Ann O’Hara, Orlaith Reynolds, Betty Quinn, Sinead Reynolds, Deirdre Cox, Geraldine Kelly, Margot Deignan, Henry Cox, Mairead Gonley, Rita Needham, Padric Lunn.


Honorary Members

Rev. Bro. Bonaventure & Jack Kelly

About the Feis

Feis Shligigh was founded in 1903 as a Gaelic Feis for Connacht. The aims are the revival of our national Language and Heritage. Dr. Douglas Hyde, first President of Ireland, adjudicated the Irish Language Competitions in those early days.After a few years the Feis lapsed until 1929 and since then has continued to grow from year to year to the present day. All sections of the Feis ran concurrently during Easter Week until 2006 when, because of increasing numbers of competitors, it now takes place over 3 weekends before Easter ending with 4 days of Drama during Holy Week.